no-img

ICOS-Temperature

The Internal Combustion Optical Sensor (ICOS)-Temperature system from LaVision allows analysis of time-resolved in-cylinder gas temperature in an internal combustion engine. The minimally invasive sensor is available with a choice of in-cylinder probes. The system delivers crank angle resolved single cycle and cycle averaged gas temperature and water concentration curves over many consecutive cycles.

Applications
  • gas temperature and water concentration indication during mixture formation
  • EGR influence on charge temperature
  • charge cooling using water injection
  • supercharging, downsizing, HCCI
  • simulation validation
 

Example transient temperatures during tip-in

The high temporal resolution of the ICOS systems allows the analysis of in-cylinder temperatures during transient operation. The diagram shows the transient behaviour of the temperature during a tip-in (load change) operation for 15 engine cycles. The engine is coasting over the first 5 cycles. After this the accelerator pedal is pushed down resulting in a load step and transient firing behaviour over 7 cycles. The combustion process then stabilizes in the following cycles. The shown temperature profiles are averaged over 10 repeated tip-ins.

Optimizing engines under transient operation is becoming increasingly important to meet RDE requirements

no-img
 

Example global and local water concentration

The water concentration can be detected at different locations in the cylinder giving insight to the mixture formation process, especially when applying exhaust gas recirculation (EGR). The line-of-sight probe, located at the engine‘s liner, measures integrated across the cylinder and therefore reveals the average value. In contrast to that, the spark plug probe measures the water concentration locally. Water concentration measurements of three individual cycles with the spark plug probe and the line-of-sight probe clearly highlight local differences between these location.

no-img
 

ICOS-Temperature - System specifications

no-img

no-img

ICOS-Temperature

Das Internal Combustion Optical Sensor (ICOS)-Temperature System von LaVision erlaubt die hochzeitaufgelöste Analyse innermotorischer Gastemperaturen in Verbrennungsmotoren. Eine Vielzahl minimalinvasiver Messsonden stehen dafür zur Verfügung. Das System liefert die kurbelwinkelaufgelöste Gastemperatur und Wasserkonzentration von vielen aufeinanderfolgenden Einzelzyklen, sowie deren gemittelte Werte.

Anwendungen
  • Indizierung der Gastemperatur und Wasserkonzentration während der Gemischbildung
  • Einfluss der AGR auf Gemischtemperatur
  • Gemischkühlung mittels Wassereinspritzung
  • Hochaufladung, Downsizing, HCCI
  • Simulationsvergleich
 

Beispiel transiente Temperaturen während eines Tip-Ins

Die hohe Zeitauflösung des ICOS Systems erlaubt die Analyse der innermotorischen Gastemperatur bei transienten Motorbedingungen. Das Diagramm zeigt die zeitliche Veränderung der Temperatur während eines Tip-Ins (Lastwechsel) über 15 Motorzyklen. In den ersten fünf Zyklen ist der Motor im Schubbetrieb. Danach wird das Gaspedal betätigt, was zu einem Lastwechsel und damit zu einem transienten Verhalten in den nächsten 7 Zyklen führt. Anschließend stabilisiert sich der Verbrennugsprozess in den darauf folgenden Zyklen. Die gezeigten Temperaturprofile sind über zehn Wiederholungen gemittelt.

Die Optimierung der Motoren unter transienten Bedingungen wird zunehmend wichtiger , um die Anforderungen der Gesetzgebung hinsichtlich der Real Driving Emissions (RDE) zu erfüllen.

no-img
 

Beispiel globale und lokale Wasserkonzentration

Die Detektion der Wasserkonzentration an unterschiedlichen Orten im Zylinder gibt einen Hinweis auf den Gemischbildungsprozess, insbesondere beim Einsatz von Abgasrückführung (AGR). Die im Liner des Motors applizierte Durchstrahlsonde misst integral über den Durchmesser des Zylinders und somit einen Durchschnittswert. Im Gegensatz dazu erfasst die Zündkerzensonde die Wasserkonzentration lokal. Die Konzentrationsmessungen von jeweils drei unabhängigen Zyklen mit beiden Sondentypen zeigen deutliche lokale Unterschiede im Zylinder.

no-img
 

ICOS-Temperature - Systemspezifikationen

no-img